The State of Mississippi Secretary of State Securities Division administers the Uniform Securities Laws and regulates both the sale of securities and licensing of professionals in the securities industry, including Investment Advisers.
Mississippi Code Annotated §75-71-400 provides details for investment advisers. Investment advisers must also meet conditions set forth in the Mississippi Securities Act Rules 631 which include:
1. Payment of a filing fee and application for registration through IARD with any required attachments.
2. Copies of all client contracts or agreements.
3. A $30,000 surety bond is required if the investment adviser has custody of client funds or meet the minimum net worth of $30,000.
4. A $10,000 surety bond is required if the investment adviser has discretionary authority of client funds or meet the minimum net worth of $10,000.
5. Complete the Consent of Service.
6. Provide copy of certification for either the Formation of Incorporation or Articles of Incorporation.
7. Provide the URL for the applicant or firm of the applicant.
8. De Minimis- applicants that do not have a physical business location in Mississippi and that have less than five clients are not required to register.
The premium that you pay for a Mississippi Investment Adviser Bond is dependent on the bond amount needed and personal credit.
An investment adviser can only be registered with one investment adviser at a time in Mississippi.
Hours: 8:00-5:00 CST, Monday through Friday