The State of Alabama Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division is responsible for the licensing of non-dealer designated agents such as financial institutions, manufactured home dealer (title applications and cancellations), pawnshops, out-of-state financial institution (manufactured homes only-title applications and cancellations), law firms (manufactured homes only-title applications and cancellations) title agent (manufactured homes only-title applications and cancellations).
The Code of Alabama 1975, Sections 32-8-34 and 32-20-22, defines the non-dealer designated agent license requirements. The following is required for licensure:
1. Completion of the online application (ETAPS) and payment of the license fee.
2. Applicants must attend the two 6 hour training classes before their ETAPS account will be activated. The training class covers titling procedures and ETAPS user training.
3. Attach a copy of the company’s state business or regulatory license.
4. Obtain a $25,000 surety bond and upload as an attachment to the license application.
Premiums for Alabama non-dealer designated agent out-of-state financial institution (manufactured homes only) bonds are dependent on credit.
A separate application must be submitted for each branch or location.
Contact SuretyGroup.com at:
Hours: 8:00-5:00 CST, Monday through Friday
SuretyGroup.com is your online bond provider.