What to Do With Tons of Tires?

Waste Tire Haulers

Waste Tire Haulers Help the Environment

Drivers in the US throw out nearly 290 million tires every year. That’s enough tires for 72.5 million cars. Every year.

Tires cause many environmental problems. They are a popular breeding ground for mosquitos, they quickly take up landfill space, and they are fire hazards which produce smoke that is harmful to the environment.

Tire Recycling is Critical

Today about 80% of tires get recycled, and more uses for old tires are being developed. Tires are now used for products for road construction, playground surfaces, shoe products, dock bumpers, furniture, sports surfaces, and of course, the classic tire swing.

California Takes Action

California is taking steps to reduce its growing used tire problem. In 1989 the California Recycling Tire Act was enacted which established a fund that supports tire recycling efforts and the production of recycled tire products.

State law requires compliance with the Waste Tire Manifest Program. Those who haul ten or more waste tires must register as a Waste Tire Hauler.

Waste Tire Haulers may only take tires to authorized facilities and keep a “Comprehensive Trip Log.” Those who receive tires from unregistered haulers must report them to CalRecycle.

Registration for a Waste Tire Hauler includes:

    • Complete the registration application.  Annual registration is valid through Dec. 31 and applicants must register before hauling.
    • Complete CalRecycle Form 60
    • Obtain a $10,000 surety bond (CIWMB Form 61). The bond runs concurrently with the waste tire hauler registration.

SuretyGroup.com is licensed to write California Waste Tire Hauler Surety Bonds. Call for a free, no-obligation quote. You can speak with a Surety Bond Specialist at 1‑844‑432‑6637, email info@suretygroup.com, or apply online.

 

SuretyGroup.com – Your Online Bond Provider.

Great Rates. Solid Advice. Quick Solutions.

Nevada Contractor’s License Surety Bond Requirement

You hear it all the time, “I was scammed,” “the contractor never finished the work,” “they didn’t do the work that I contracted him to do,” and other stories of contractors gone bad. Because of these situations, many states require a contractor to be licensed, and in some cases, secure a surety bond which often ensures the duties in a contract.

Home owners in Nevada that need repairs or home improvements should cautiously seek out reputable licensed contractors before making any payments or deposits to begin work. Homeowners should obtain bids or quotes, check references and check the state’s contractor license lookup  to ensure that the contractor has a valid license and to see if there have been any disciplinary actions.

Contractors in Nevada are required to be licensed and obtain a surety bond in an amount that ranges from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the type of license being issued, character of the contractor, financial stability of the contractor, experience in the industry, and the amount of the projects the contractor plans to undertake.  The Nevada State Contractor’s Board will determine the bond amount that will be required, or a contractor may opt to make a cash deposit instead of a surety bond.  (The Board has additional surety bond requirements for residential pool and spa contractors.)

The surety bond is a guarantee that the contractor will fulfill his or her duties in contractual agreements, as well as fulfill the labor and supplier obligations and maintain a safe work environment on the job site.  If a claim is made against the bond or cash deposit by any person with a valid reason to do so, and if the contractor is found at fault, a claim may be paid by the surety or from the cash deposit.  If the surety pays the claim, the contractor must pay the surety company back.

Nevada contractors can get the surety bond they need to meet the Nevada State Contractors Board license requirement from SuretyGroup.com.  We offer free, no-obligation quotes, low rates and fast service. Email info@suretygroup.comapply online or call us today at 1‑844‑432‑6637.

 

SuretyGroup.com – Your Online Bond Provider.

Great Rates. Solid Advice. Quick Solutions.

 

Massachusetts Mortgage Broker Surety Bond Requirement

A for sale sign is in front of a house.Long ago the pilgrims settled in Massachusetts as one of the 13 colonies. Land was plentiful and the people that settled made it their home. As more people came to settle in the colonies, it resulted in friction and wars over the rightful ownership of the land and who would eventually be allowed to own the deed for it.

These days, land and housing in particular may be fought over in real estate wars. The real estate market in certain areas of Massachusetts has a very limited inventory of houses for sale, and may require a “bidding war” between potential buyers. This often results in a bigger chunk of a home buyer’s income to live in a city such as Boston. Instead, buyers may need to look in towns and cities in the eastern part of the state for more affordable housing and to find it a little easier on the pocket book.

Home buyers need to be prepared prior to making an offer on a house, condominium or townhouse, and have a pre-approval letter from a mortgage broker or lender. The mortgage broker or lender will look at the buyer’s credit reports, employment history and income. This determines the amount that can be borrowed for a mortgage loan and the interest rate that may be offered.

Mortgage brokers play a large role in the process of obtaining a mortgage loan for real estate purposes, and are required to be licensed if they receive compensation for mortgage related services. This includes assisting with mortgage loan offers, placement of loans, negotiation of loans and the finding of mortgage loans for residential property in Massachusetts.

Mortgage brokers as a license requirement must also obtain a $75,000 surety bond. The surety bond ensures the faithful performance of the mortgage broker, officers and employees to fulfill all written agreements or commitments, and to correctly and accurately account for any funds received by the client.

Massachusetts mortgage brokers can get the surety bond they need from SuretyGroup.com to meet the state license requirements. We offer low rates and can quickly upload your bond into the National Mortgage Licensing Service (NMLS) system. Email info@suretygroup.com, apply online or call our Surety Bond Specialists today at 1‑844‑432‑6637.

 

SuretyGroup.com – Your Online Bond Provider.

Great Rates. Solid Advice. Quick Solutions.

Vermont Rental Company License Surety Bond

A car on a rental car lot.A car rental company in Vermont is a person or business that offers pleasure cars for rent on a short-term basis, with “short-term” meaning less than one year.

Vermont’s Department of Motor Vehicles requires short-term vehicle rental companies to obtain a license. This includes rentals of trailer coaches and trucks weighing 26,000 pounds or less, and trailers and semi-trailers weighing 3,000 pounds or less.

If a rental company’s yearly tax liability is greater than $5,000, then they must also submit a surety bond along with their license application. The amount is determined by using the total of the two highest months of liability in the preceding year, but it will not exceed $400,000. New rental companies must submit a $1,000 bond with their application. The amount for the bond is renewed annually, and the Commissioner may raise the amount to whatever it deems necessary to protect the revenues of the state.

A letter of credit will be accepted in lieu of a bond, and must be submitted with a current financial statement.

SuretyGroup.com is licensed to write surety bonds in Vermont. We offer Vermont Rental Companies free, no-obligation quotes, low rates and fast service.

SuretyGroup.com offers great rates, same day service and best of all, SuretyGroup.com has the bond you need! Email info@suretygroup.com, apply online or call our Surety Bond Specialists today at 1‑844‑432‑6637.

 

SuretyGroup.com – Your Online Bond Provider.

Great Rates. Solid Advice. Quick Solutions.

 

The Repo Man Must Follow the Law

A Car is being repossessedColorado Repossessors Must Have a Surety Bond

The Repo Man can keep quite busy when people don’t make their car payments. Repossessions can be a quick way for car lenders to cut their losses. But creditors can easily take advantage of debtors in court, because the creditor is typically not liable for damage to property caused by an independent contractor they hired to repossess a vehicle.

In Colorado, the General Assembly requires respossessors to carry a surety bond, which holds the creditor responsible for the actions of their hired repossessors. The surety bond is $50,000 and must be filed with the Attorney General of Colorado.

A repossessor in Colorado may not do business until they first disclose to a creditor whether or not they are bonded. Failure to disclose this information is a violation of the “Colorado Consumer Protection Act.” Falsifying a bond application or misrepresenting information is a Class I misdemeanor.

A bonded repossessor cannot “breach the peace,” meaning they cannot break the law during a repossession.

Repossessors Must Follow Certain Rules, Which Include:

  • Repossessors may not threaten violence or be physically violent.
  • They may not damage property.
  • When taking possession of a vehicle, they may not disable or render unusable any computer program or other similar device in the motor vehicle if immediate injury to any person or property is foreseeable. They are liable if their actions cause injury to a person or property.
  • Repossessors must notify a law enforcement agency prior to the repossession, including providing the name of the owner, the name of the repossessor, and the name of the mortgagee, lienholder or assignee. Notification should be at last an hour before repossession, when possible, and no later than one hour after a repossession.

Cars are not the only item that can be repossessed. Any property listed in a legal agreement can be used as collateral to a debt. This can include real estate, cash accounts, machinery, collectables and insurance policies.

Surety Group.com helps Colorado Repossessors stay compliant with state laws. We offer free, no-obligation quotes, low rates and fast service. Email info@suretygroup.com, apply online or call us today at 1‑844‑432‑6637!

 

SuretyGroup.com – Your Online Bond Provider.

Great Rates. Solid Advice. Quick Solutions.

You’re Not the Only One Moving to Texas

Texas Flag on a Barn

Growing Cities Lead to Growing Business

According to the US Census Bureau, the state of Texas holds four of the top five fastest-growing cities in the country.  This rapid growth means an influx of new construction and new businesses coming to town. For local governments, this means a huge increase in the number of license and permit applicants.

In some cases, a local government will require an applicant to first obtain a surety bond.  The surety bond is a guarantee that the rules and regulations of the city will be upheld by the applicant.  The license or permit will not be issued until a surety bond is acquired. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation determines if a business needs a license and/or bond.

A few types of surety bonds required for Texas businesses include:

Texas Athlete Agent Bond
Texas Building and/or Demolition Contractor
Texas Grain Warehouse Bond
Texas Health Spa Bond
Texas Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers Bond
Texas Off-Premises Sign Operator
Texas On-Premises Sign Operator
Texas House Mover License Bond
Texas Public Adjuster Bond
Texas Real Estate School Bond
Texas Sidewalk, Curb and Gutter License Bond
Texas Solicitation Bond
Texas Combative Sports Promoter Bond
Texas For-Profit Legal Service Contracts Bond
Texas Polygraph Examiner Bond
Texas Wrestling Promoter Bond
Texas Master Plumber License Bond

Check with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation to see if your construction project or business requires a surety bond.

SuretyGroup.com is licensed to write all Texas Surety Bonds. No matter what type of surety bond you need for your business, we are here to help.  Call our Surety Bond Specialists for a free quote at 1‑844‑432‑6637, email us at info@suretygroup.com, or apply online at suretygroup.com.

 

SuretyGroup.com – Your Online Bond Provider.

Great Rates. Solid Advice. Quick Solutions.

Nashville Contractors Need Permit Surety Bonds

Building a Growing City

Nashville, Tennessee is one of the fastest growing cities in the country.  Contractors around Davidson County are working hard to keep up with the demand of new residents. New construction is going up just about everywhere you look, and old buildings are getting rehabbed into new life.

All this activity means that the city is busy issuing permits to all types of contractors. The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County requires many contractors to be licensed, bonded and insured. When a bond is required, it must be secured before a permit or license can be issued.

The bond ensures that a contractor complies with all codes, laws and ordinances of the Metropolitan Government.

Davidson County Permit Surety Bond Amounts

Building contractors in Nashville and Davidson county with projects under $25,000 need to obtain a $10,000 surety bond before they can get a building permit. Projects over $25,000 require a $40,000 surety bond.

$40,000 surety bonds are also mandatory for electrical, gas/mechanical, plumbing, excavation and house moving contractors.

Blasting contractors have a minimum permit surety bond requirement of $10,000.

SuretyGroup.com helps get your business bonded. Call our Surety Bond Specialists at 1‑844‑432‑6637  for a free, no-obligation quote, great rates and fast service.  You may also email us at info@suretygroup.com, or apply online at SuretyGroup.com.

 

SuretyGroup.com – Your Online Bond Provider.

Great Rates. Solid Advice. Quick Solutions.

Alabama Money Transmitter Surety Bond Increase

Money Transmitter

New Act, New Rules

Starting Aug. 1, 2017, surety bond amounts for Alabama Money Transmitters have increased from $50,000 to $100,000.

This is a result of Alabama House Bill 215, which replaces the Sale of Checks Act from 1961 with the Alabama Monetary Transmission Act.

Money transmission businesses  are regulated by the Alabama Securities Commission. Business owners must obtain a license from the Commission and obtain a security, such as a surety bond. A Letter of Credit or other security may be used in place of a bond.

The minimum bond amount is $100,000, and the Commission may require some bond amounts to be higher, based on the Transmitter’s financial situation. The maximum bond amount may not exceed $5 million.

The surety bond guarantees faithful performance of the licensee.  Money Transmitters are also responsible for reported claims for five years after their license ceases.

SuretyGroup.com helps Alabama Money Transmitters get bonded. We offer free, no-obligation quotes, low rates and fast service. Give our Surety Bond Specialists a call at 844-432-6637, or apply online at SuretyGroup.com.

 

SuretyGroup.com – Your Online Bond Provider.

Great Rates. Solid Advice. Quick Solutions.

Tennessee Moves to NMLS for Title Pledge Lenders

Apply and Renew Licenses Online

Title Pledge Lender LicenseOn Aug. 1, 2017, the Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions will start using the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) to manage all Title Pledge Lender Licenses under the Tennessee Title Pledge Act. The Department will no longer accept applications directly after July 31, 2017.

Tennessee Title Pledge Lenders will be able to apply for, amend and renew licenses safely online through the NMLS.

A Title Pledge Lender is defined as “Any person engaged in the business of making title pledge agreements or property pledge agreements with pledgers.”

Each company must create a company record in the NMLS system, both for the company and for each branch license. Once a company has access to the NMLS, the following forms need to be submitted before Sept. 29, 2017:

  • Company Application for Licensed Companies
  • Biographical Statement and Consent Form for Licensed Companies for each Control Person
  • Branch Application for Licensed Companies for each Licensed Branch

The NMLS Checklist includes obtaining a Surety Bond or Letter of Credit:

  • Bond amount of $25,000 for each location
  • Applicant must mail the original Surety Bond or Letter of Credit to the Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions
  • Surety Bonds are for one-year terms and must be renewed annually
  • The total bond for a single license shall not exceed $200,000

 

SuretyGroup.com is licensed to write Tennessee Title Pledge Lender License Surety Bonds. Contact us for a free, no-obligation quote.  Apply online at SuretyGroup.com, email info@suretygroup.com or call our Surety Bond Specialists at 844-432-6637.

 

SuretyGroup.com – Your Online Bond Provider.

Great Rates. Solid Advice. Quick Solutions.

California Milk Handlers Licensing

California Milk Handlers

State’s Top Ag Product is Big Business

Although Wisconsin is known as “The Dairy State,” California surpassed Wisconsin in dairy production by 1994.   Dairy is California’s top agricultural product, with over 1300 dairy farms in production. The state is also a top producer in ice cream, milk, butter, yogurt and other dairy products. Wisconsin still holds the title as the country’s biggest cheese producer.

Other top dairy producing states include New York, Idaho, Pennsylvania, Florida, Minnesota, Ohio and Vermont.

Milk handlers are essential to the dairy business. They are described as “every person who purchases, handles, or receives bulk unprocessed or pasteurized manufacturing or market milk for the purpose of manufacture, processing, sale, or other handling.” They transport milk from the dairy farm to the processor, weigh and sample the milk, and form the relationship between the farmer and the buyers or marketers.

In order to guarantee that dairy farmers and dairies get paid for the milk and cream a handler purchases, California’s Department of Food and Agriculture requires milk handlers to obtain a surety bond before they can be licensed. The bond amounts are based on personal credit, financial statements, and the amount of milk purchased.

Other states that require milk handlers to be bonded include Vermont, Pennsylvania, New York, Delaware and Ohio.

SuretyGroup.com can help milk handlers stay compliant with their state’s laws. We offer free, no-obligation quotes, low rates and fast service. You can apply online at SuretyGroup.com, or call our Surety Bond Specialists at 844-432-6637.

 

SuretyGroup.com – Your Online Bond Provider.

Great Rates. Solid Advice. Quick Solutions.